News & Media

Curtis Granderson voted Man of the Year for 3rd time by peers

Free agent outfielder Curtis Granderson became the first three-time winner of the Marvin Miller Man of the Year, part of the players' association's Players Choice Awards.

The 37-year-old Granderson, the winner in 2009 and 2016, split last season between the Toronto Blue Jays and Milwaukee Brewers. He was followed in the voting by Arizona first baseman Paul Goldschmidt and Los Angeles Angelsoutfielder Mike Trout. The award is given annually to a player for onfield performance and contributions to the community that inspire others.

Boston Red Sox designated hitter J.D. Martinez was voted Player of the Year, Red Sox outfielder Mookie Betts was selected the AL’s Outstanding Player, and Milwaukee’s Christian Yelich was chosen the NL’s Outstanding Player.

Tampa Bay Rays lefty Blake Snell was the AL’s Outstanding Pitcher, and New York Mets ace Jacob deGrom was the NL’s Outstanding Pitcher. New York Yankees third baseman Miguel Andujar and Atlanta Braves outfielder Ronald Acuna Jr. were the Outstanding Rookies. Free agent outfielder Cameron Maybin and Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Matt Kemp were the Comeback Players of the Year. Maybin was with the Miami Marlins and Seattle Marinersthis year.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Quick Contact Details

For press/media inquiries:

© 2018